Dressing the Queen – 3/5 – The Camicia

Part 1 – Reference Images

Part 2 – Drafting & Dyeing

Whilst I waited for the muslin to come back from its fitting many states away, I set to work on the camicia. We ordered a fine handkerchief linen for this, so it would be nice and breathable, and drape well.

The camicia itself was fairly straight forward, and I more or less followed the instructions on Realm of Venus for an Italian one. Once I had the camicia pieces cut out, one of my household members serged them to prevent fraying.

IMG_20200217_144155

Then, everything was sewn together by machine (I have rheumatoid arthritis and hand sewing is hard for me these days, so most of the work was done via machine).

Once the garment was assembled, and the bottom hemmed, I began hand-pleating the camicia to the binding. I chose to use box pleats for this, just to make it easier. No math was used in the making of these pleats, because I believe in having to undo everything if I don’t get things looking as even as I like. 😉

IMG_20200222_142536

Then, the binding was sewn on, and the camicia was complete, minus some ironing, which was wonderfully done by another household member.

IMG_20200222_142526

Part 4 – Building the Gown

Part 5 – The Final Gown

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started